The Loyne Specialist School
Sefton Drive
Tel :
Fax :
Email :
01524 645 43
01524 845 118

Statutory Information - Curriculum

The Curriculum at the Loyne Specialist School

All pupils access the full range of subjects of the National Curriculum, including citizenship at Key Stages 3 and 4, religious education, sex and relationship education, other aspects of PSHCE, and careers education, according to the relevant key stage provision which prepares pupils for adult life, with access to suitably accredited courses as they grow older.

Subject leaders carefully consider the content of the National Curriculum for Key Stages 1 and 2 and decide which elements are best suited to be taught in specific key stages or age phases across school. Elements of the National Curriculum for Key Stages 3 and 4 are used where appropriate (e.g. Citizenship). Subject policies, schemes of work and mapping outline the specific content for each age-phase. The curriculum also includes other topics that are pertinent to pupils as advised by the Department of Education (2013) “Schools are also free to include other subjects or topics of their choice in planning and designing their own programme of education”.

Please also refer to ‘Curriculum Information for Parents’ to find out subject content for the current term.

Primary & Secondary Departments

Working... Please wait